02 Oct, 2020

Ella Walmsley

  • Governess/Nanny Role
  • Bristol, UK
Full time Support Work Teaching SEN Special Educational Needs

Personal Summary

Dear Parent/Agency,

I have recently returned from a trial in Geneva working as a Governess/Nanny for a VIP Russian family, G6, B4 and B2. The family offered me a contract but I chose not to accept due to hours being 24/7. I am now looking for another family and will be available for work after my quarantine ends on the 9th October 2020.

I am an enthusiastic and determined First-Class Honours student with teaching and childcare experience looking for a role as a Governess/Nanny. I am currently based in Clifton, Bristol.

I have been working as a Teaching Assistant at a Primary school in Bristol. I have found this to be an extremely diverse and engaging role and through this position I have also gained experience working with children with speech, language and behavioural challenges. I started working one-to-one with a child with a tracheostomy fitted. I was her on-site carer, dealing with all medical needs as well as learning support. Due to the tracheostomy restricting her speech, I learnt to communicate with body language and facial expression, a process which has taught me great patience. These transferable skills have aided my development, allowing me to work effectively with children with Autism. I have gained an understanding of the importance of engaging the senses when working with Autistic children and have found art/play is a great way to incorporate this into daily activities. I have also been working with some of the youngest children (Reception class) including facilitating streamed phonics/group time and observing child development against the 'Statutory Early Years Framework'.

From the age of 14, I began regular childminding for families in Oxford with children of all ages with a variety of different needs. Responsibilities included daily/night routines, school pick-ups, help with schoolwork and delivering engaging creative activities. Due to my responsible, trustworthy nature I was recommended repeatedly to other families across the city. Since living in Bristol, I briefly childminded for a family nearby with children in year 6 and 10 who attend a private school. I helped the 9 year old with her Maths and English along with food technology sessions and craft activities.

With my positive, engaging and hard-working attitude I make for a good role model in and out of the classroom. I understand the importance of academic education along with the importance of learning through play and creativity incorporating this into my time spent with children. I am an open minded and creative individual and I can express myself through a variety of mediums including painting, sculpture, video editing, creative writing, guitar, singing, poetry, dance, role play, and enjoy inspiring others to do the same. I have independently set-up a small jewellery business, including establishing its branding, marketing and website design, and I also write a lifestyle blog on coping with anxiety and mental health issues.

I also have a passion for travel and exploring new cultures. Having had the opportunity to grow up in a small developing country, Samoa, from the age of 7 to 11, I have fostered an empathy for people from disadvantaged backgrounds. Since living in Samoa, I have travelled to a number of other countries (e.g. Vanuatu, Niue, Fiji, India, Thailand, Malaysia and Indonesia) and have become increasingly aware of the lack of education for many and the role education can play as a tool for social change as well as personal development.

I am currently looking for a rota role, 1 week on one week off // 2 weeks on 2 weeks off // 3 weeks on 3 weeks off // month on month off but I am open to full time positions with the right family and salary. I am also interested in E-learning and teaching English online, for the time I am not with the family.

Please use the following link watch my Introduction video - https://youtu.be/gZMbQe2hzjo 

I welcome any questions you may have about my profile, CV or experience. Please contact me for DBS, passport copy, reference contacts.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards,

Ella

Work Experience

Learning Support Assistant (SEN) – Bishop Road Primary School (November 2019 – September 2020)
Nov 2019 - Sep 2020 Bishop Road - Primary School
  • 1 to 1 medical & learning support for a physically disabled child (EAL)
  • Trained in: Tracheostomy care, Emergency Tracheostomy change, Gastrostomy mini button care, Basic First aid
  • Recording medical notes, interventions and observations
  • Facilitating Phonics sessions, 1 to 1interventions
  • Speech and Language Therapy sessions, sentence building, colour semantics
  • Observing and recording child development against the ‘Statutory Early Years Framework’
  • Working with children on the Autistic spectrum
  • Support for Reception/ Year 1/ Year 2
  • Lunchtime/Playground Duty
Childcare
Jan 2009 - Oct 2020 Private Families
  • Age range 2 years – 14 years old
  • 1 to 1 learning support, homework sessions
  • Preparing healthy meals, breakfast, lunch, dinner
  • Bedtime Routine; bath time, daily reading, bed
  • Encouraging children to play and develop their interests
  • Facilitating activities; sewing, painting, dance, roleplay, yoga, guitar, hula hooping, circus skills, aerial hoop, cycling, gardening, swimming
  • School runs; drop off and pickups throughout day, nursery, primary
  • Days out: cinema, zoo, museums, boat trips, walks, park, shopping

Education

BA(Hons) Drama & Acting
Jun 2015 - Oct 2020 UWE